I’m a huge skeptic so I definitely do my research before I start taking supplements. I know for sure I need to take iron and that its recommended to take calcium if you’re a woman.

But what about for sleep? Relaxation? Depression? As a depressed nighttime sufferer I’ve taken melatonin rich works really well the first time but after that my brain decided it would have no effect. I find that zinc and magnesium actually help really well with my restless leg syndrome that’s giving me I better sleep even if I don’t sleep that much. So is nice to not have to take another prescription on top of the prescription pills I take daily.
In another article from last year’s August addition of the Scientific American, they mentioned some popular new herbal treatments for anxiety and depression. I agree with the part that states people assume that herbal medicines or natural substances bought without a prescription are much safer than synthetic medications which is totally wrong. I’ve heard of st. John’s wort being used for depression but it’s still they still fine but the studies say results are inconclusive meaning they can’t say it actually has an effect . There are also plenty of adverse reactions to St John’s wort in connection make someone feel much worse.
Another drug they mention is Kava which I’ve never heard of before. It can cause liver damage react with other medications and cause you to be sleepy. It’s become popular other alternative to relaxation instead of drinking apparently in Florida. The article and saying there still might be some chance for herbal treatments in the future but for now none of the studies are coming out positive for the common and new herbal drugs.

About depressionica

Young sciency/arsty/etc girl who is highly interested in her own problem, depression and mental illness. She takes the scientific approach and is constantly reading new research and self-help books.

Leave a Reply

