;

image

Ugh, the photo above I snapped from an article, in February’s latest Scientific American Mind, reminds me of how I probably look when I’m studying and thinking to myself, why am I learning this? I will never use it again, most likely, it won’t get me a super awesome job or even a decent paying one.

Well, all this contemplation and not total concentration apparently and not surprisingly has a toll on your mental capacity. Surprise. It makes perfect sense and I’m not really sure why they have to explicitly state it but it was the topic of the article…. I know that when I’m hungry I just cannot concentrate at all. The same goes as mentioned in the article, for mental illness related obsessive compulsive thoughts such as, I feel like crap, I’m depressed, I’m fat I’m going to fill fail etc . I am not surprised.

I think maybe a lot of people don’t realize this fun fact, since this is a topic of an article. I also think that is especially with youth they might be thinking about are worrying about going home, lunch time, bullying, what they look like etc. (I know I did…) and maybe that is why they’re doing so poorly in school. I don’t know why its such a hard concept to grasp but I got a lot of trouble for not really paying attention constantly for 6 hours which is ridiculous, adults don’t even do that! They don’t give much of a solution except for give yourself a break (lots of breaks), and get exercise spend time with people (pretty much the standard self help protocol now in days).  They don’t mention meditate but I’m hoping this will help me.. So maybe I shouldn’t be as hard on myself for not being super concentrate-ed!

About depressionica

Young sciency/arsty/etc girl who is highly interested in her own problem, depression and mental illness. She takes the scientific approach and is constantly reading new research and self-help books.

Leave a Reply

