Once a  week, for 3 hours, I have my Mindfulness Meditation elective course, which involves yoga, meditation, practice reflections, we recently had a 6 hour silent day which was awesome! It’s actually a Social Work studies course but I decided to take it as an elective.  Being in the moment is still extremely challenging, especially when I am super mad/depressed for really no reason...I am getting better at meditating, I think, and focusing! : D!!!!

Today we learnt about RAIN! I love acronyms!! They help me with remembering stuff, including school type stuff, but they have some sort of magical power on the human brain to actually STICK.

Here is the article I read about RAIN, well this one has a bunch of added personal stories and a few differences, I probably read an older version.

R Recongnizing what is happening—-In your body, mind, inside.

A Allow life to Just be! —-“Alright, this feels really extra super terribly crappy” Muuuussst let be…..Consent to grief, frustration, anger.

I Investigate with most kind touch possible! FUCK, I don’t wanna feel like this anymore, WHY does it happen at the most random times? Stupid idiot self…No, it’s ok, actually most people would feel the same way in the situation, it is ok. Just feel, let be…Ask, gently: “What most wants attention?” “How am I experiencing this in my body?” or “What am I believing?” or “What does this feeling want from me?”….

N Non-identification: I am not my feelings, though they may be intense and I feel as if they dictate my life, it is not the true “me” to be angry for no reason or constantly sad.

About depressionica

Young sciency/arsty/etc girl who is highly interested in her own problem, depression and mental illness. She takes the scientific approach and is constantly reading new research and self-help books.

One response »

  1. What an amazing elective!!

    I struggle with non-identification but think I’m getting the hang of it in certain situations.

Leave a Reply

