I have anemia, I am not sure I have really talked about it, but it seems to be getting worse. I eat tons of meat including liver once in awhile. I used to take Palafer, which is expensive yes, and now there is a new supplement that is supposed to be even more expensive, Ferromax but since it’s new I can still get lots of samples from my doctor’s office. ūüėÄ

It does have an affect on my energy for sure. The last 2 times I have exercised, and it’s hard for me not to go all out when doing cardio as it feels really really good, I have felt like passing out the next day (such as today). I took my iron supplements before I went to bed and even had steak for dinner. I see stars, I feel drained etc. I know having heavy periods or basically any periods at all drain the majority of iron stores out of my body and being on birth control and essentially trying to skip periods by continuously taking it makes a HUGE difference.

So my doc has now given me 4 iron shots in the butt cheek (finally, after battling this for sooo long!!! thank you to my psychiatrist that called my doc and told him to do it!!!!). I think my doc believed me that I took my supplements everyday (which I do!), I think I probably have a bit of an absorption problem. The shots are very extremely painful compared to shots in the arm….The 4 did raise my iron slightly….

NOW though there is an international shortage of iron shots as well as vitamin B12 shots. Yes, an international fucking shortage, WTF?!?!?! It is actually SUPER EASY IN an organic chemistry sense to make an iron shot….But probably since there is no patents to make lots of monies the company apparently doesn’t give a fuck and there will be many many tired people until March….This sucks because my iron is probably going to go down, after getting it slightly up again…I do highly recommend the shots….They are cheap and efficient and covered by medical plans. Also, try Ferromax, see if you can score some free samples too cause it is pricey. But honestly, if I could pay $500 a month to feel like a normal person and have lots of energy and guaranteed no depression or sleep problems, I WOULD…POSSIBLY PAY MORE DEPENDING HOW EFFICIENT AT LIFE I BECAME!!!!

About depressionica

Young sciency/arsty/etc girl who is highly interested in her own problem, depression and mental illness. She takes the scientific approach and is constantly reading new research and self-help books.

Leave a Reply

