I just read an interesting short story, I had no idea it was going to be about depression, insanity, or anything like that. I thought it was going to be a murder mystery or something. I came across is randomly in a book of short stories I have. It was about of course the yellow gross ugly wallpaper that is described in the that the protagonist slept in.

There author had mental health problems herself and the story was largely to convince people that the “rest treatment”, being forced to take naps and sleep and not occupy one’s mind is the best treatment (it was dropped as treatment too because well it didn’t work). I could relate to the protagonist in many ways, the tiredness, the obsession, the family members/doctors treating you like you don’t know what’s good for yourself (which could be true). The crying when alone, weakness, and laying awake at night.

Her doctor of course rejected her story or didn’t acknowledge it. Some doctors were extremely offended and thought the story itself could cause people to go insane. I hate the way her husband treats her as well as doctors like she was some sort of infant, stupid, and incapable of any sort of logic causing her to lash out and become more angry (I have done this before myself, it’s hard to control yourself after awhile, I don’t want to be the crazy one knocking shit over at the doctor’s office but it’s just damn it’s just hard to express yourself without looking, I guess crazy). Please listen to me, I am crazy but I am not crazy I am fully aware and logical about my current condition, please don’t make me have to cry or scream, sigh.

Charlotte Gilman was quoted saying that her story was meant to save women from this “incipient insanity” as one doc from Kansas said in praise of the work.

Interesting women, also a feminist who strongly supported the idea of women working, using their intelligience and even wrote a book on a world solely occupied by men I hope to read called, “Herland”.

About depressionica

Young sciency/arsty/etc girl who is highly interested in her own problem, depression and mental illness. She takes the scientific approach and is constantly reading new research and self-help books.

One response »

  1. CatLadyJennie says:

    Herland is really good, just sayin’.

    The crazy/ not crazy thing is such a true, raw, difficult thought to have,

Leave a Reply

