I am super tired these days trying to adjust to some pills in hopes they will work…I am a regular reader of the Scientific American and the Scientific American Mind because my mother buys them. I don’t generally buy magazines as I am a cheap internet generation person.

When I was 15 I got my wisdom teeth surgically removed as not to ruin my perfectly straight expensive teeth. They put me out with Ketamine. When I awoke from my daze with a mouth of gauze and blood, I had never felt that good in my entire life EVER. Not drinking, running around with friends, getting good xmas presents….NEVER. It was I was so happy I started crying but I think they just figured I was pain or something and they just left me in a room all high and happy.

I had never been on anti-depressants until I was 18 and mainly just skimmed through high school with good grades which isn’t hard since the standards are super low compared to high school in say Japan or Korea.

I was excited to read this new article about Ketamine infusion treatments for extremely resistent depressed people. Unlike, benzodiazepines, Ketamine works on EVERYONE EVEN THE PEOPLE WHO HAVE TRIED “EVERY LEGAL TREATMENT”. It works fast and it sometimes even works 100%, so the patient doesn’t have any remaining symptoms. Prozac doesn’t do that. Cymbalta doesn’t either. And the other 50 anti-depressants.

Originally a part drug and still is a party drug, of course the health officials are going to make it hard to access. A doc in New York, has volunteered to do the infusions. He is an anesthesiologist so he probably has a lot of ketamine on hand. I am not sure if he charges for it because I don’t really know how the health care system works there. I would pay quite a bit of money for something every 3-6 months though if it meant I could work full time and be productive and most of all want to live a long accomplished life.

How Ketamine Works:

It floods the neurons with the molecule glutamate, which is apparently crucial for learning and memory. It also blocks the receptor NMDA. Ketamine isn’t the only antagonist. So it lead apparently, much cheaper and easily accessible. And methadone which is often used to get people off drug addictions…

I hope there are more studies and that this becomes available as a treatment as I don’t ECT is AS SAFE AS IT CLAIMS TO BE (or even as cheap, since you have to hire an anesthesiologist for it anyways). And not having to take pills everyday that cause nausea, weight gain, dry mouth, low sex drive and more fun things seems like a good idea.

About depressionica

Young sciency/arsty/etc girl who is highly interested in her own problem, depression and mental illness. She takes the scientific approach and is constantly reading new research and self-help books.

5 responses »

  1. Robin says:

    I believe ketamine inhibits glutamate. It’s complicated, though, especially if depression is messing with your head.

  2. If it wouldn’t be such as disaster in the long run I would be taking ecstasy every day. I was on anti-depressants and anti-psychotics first and they were horrible. Taking half a pill or 1 whole pill of E put me in the space that I wanted to be in.

Leave a Reply

