My drugs don’t work. Cymbalta works, sort of, the withdrawal sucks so much everytime I go off… And it does “take the edge off” the edge being a knife and other self destructive things. Although, not always, and as much as I want it to. My mother looked up the drug my grandma had been on from the 80’s to her death. It’s a tricyclic anti-depressant. Which are hardcore with hard core side effects, in fact, so hard core it recommends that the person stay in the psych ward as they will be sedated from it for the first week and might go extra crazy…. This is weird because it actually got my grandma out of her previously sedated state.
It is called maprotiline. I have never been on a tricyclic anti depressant as they are rarely prescribed anymore.

I may try it but that is a difficult thing to do as psychiatrists want to do whatever the newest best things are. (Mine still thinks its ECT) I am also looking for a new psychiatrist as well and hopefully he/she will take my medical history into consideration and isn’t in love with ECT. I can get files and stuff transferred but I don’t know what they say so I probably won’t plus they are way too disorganized at the one hospital to do anything really…and health Canada luckily isn’t putting up records online “safely” yet.

About depressionica

Young sciency/arsty/etc girl who is highly interested in her own problem, depression and mental illness. She takes the scientific approach and is constantly reading new research and self-help books.

Leave a Reply

