Awesome Awesome Awesome This is exactly what ECT treatment needs!!! He has so many good points as well. I like his solution to obsessive thoughts saying “Ah Fuck it” apparently he got it from a play. A must watch! I have had ECT and I am A BELIEVAH unlike my beliefs in other things….

 

Welp, I am no longer a “BELIEVAH” as I was ranting on about last Novemberish. I mean that normalness, that normal girl, that functioning normal human being. It died….2 weeks later. So I did ECT again hoping for the same result!

NOPE, ONLY GOT SEVERE MEMORY LOSS AND SHORT TERM MEMORY DAMAGE. And I am back to being depressed.

I believe and so far just from hearing about others who have had the same kind of treatment, that IT IS NO SAFE AND THE BEST TREATMENT. It’s varies too much from person to person and I don’t think young people should get it continually cause young people kinda need their brain for things oh like university and working?

I plan on trying to spread the word, when I have time, and when I am more stable. : )

About depressionica

Young sciency/arsty/etc girl who is highly interested in her own problem, depression and mental illness. She takes the scientific approach and is constantly reading new research and self-help books.

5 responses »

  1. CatLadyJennie says:

    I just wanted to say hi and that I hope things get better for you soon. I had ECT when I was a teenager and had severe memory loss. I’m 28 now, and I try to spread the word that there are many different outcomes to shock therapy. Anyway, I’m glad I found your blog, and I hope to read more from you.

    • Thank-you so much for this comment!! I am trying to spread the word around to doctors specifically. I really think they should do more research and look at the effects of ECT on young minds and all minds! It is possible that it is a treatment that effects different people differently in different ways and there needs to be more standardization and better warnings etc.

      • CatLadyJennie says:

        It’s awesome that you are thinking about this stuff when you are still so close to the experience. It took me a long time to feel strong enough to talk about mine. Right now I am working on getting my Master’s degree, and the topic of my thesis is the doctor/patient relationship in published first-hand accounts of ECT. Good luck with everything you do!

      • Sounds awesome!!! I was wondering if I should get into something like that ūüôā

    • Hi,

      Yes, I am trying to tell as many doctors as I can including like random walk-in clinic docs. They are surprised because they were told that ECT is safer than the pills.

Leave a Reply

