I was shopping at the Real Canadian Stupid Store, and at the last second at the til  I grabbed a copy of the Oprah magazine as it said, “CONFIDENCE! How to build it, Radiate It- and Finally come into your own”. And since I have been struggling with my self-esteem (which I have really not much of a reason to as I have pretty much destroyed myself by making assumptions blah blah) I thought yay I will read this and feel and much better.

Well, it’s always a huge happy two-faced double standard. It’s ok to be chubby HOW TO LOOSE WEIGHT WEAR THIS MAKE UP AND YOU WILL BE BETTER BUY THIS PURSE IT’S ONLY $400 WHAT A STEAL! I guess they have to sell magazine, and this is what sells…

So, I found this article in the magazine about a writer, Lauren Slater, who has severe depression. I say severe, even more severe than me because even on medications, she didn’t shower for so long she got an infection!!! Holy crap…. And she only functions 7 hours a day…. It is somewhat comforting that someone can kinda lead a productive functioning life like this and even have childrens. The article is about how she decided to start dressing up, cutting her hair, taking care of her appearance, even though she is a writer and doesn’t leave the house much and how it makes her feel better. I agree.

It basically make me very happy that someone with such severe depression manages! It is my greatest fear that I will just end up in the psych ward forever or something although my depression always has varied enough for me to get a bit of motivation to get up, and out.

About depressionica

Young sciency/arsty/etc girl who is highly interested in her own problem, depression and mental illness. She takes the scientific approach and is constantly reading new research and self-help books.

Leave a Reply

