Yes, as the great offspring song “self esteem”, stated, I have low self esteem. It was high and it can be high and it is especially much higher when everything is going awesome in life but in the past year, which I took off from pursuing my biochem degree, it has plummeted…Mainly because I can’t really hold down a job and because well my depression is really bad (the reason I took a year off instead of failing course and getting crappy grades and to try different treatments such as the ECT). SO having low self-esteem sucks and I can’t really get shit done or make good impressions with it….So like how I solve a lot of my problems I look on the internet for things to do to or read to help solve this problem! Actually, I guess my dad bought this book a long time ago (and never read it…grrr) called:

“Ten days to Self-Esteem” By David D. Burns.

I have only read the first chapter so far and done the assignments and tests he emphasizes doing. I like it so far he is funny and realistic. I took the Depression check list test and anxiety check list test and yeah I am doing quite bad, mentally. Oh well, I am hoping this book will help me get back to how I was feeling about myself, future etc, 2 years ago.

Happy Halloween!!!!

 

About depressionica

Young sciency/arsty/etc girl who is highly interested in her own problem, depression and mental illness. She takes the scientific approach and is constantly reading new research and self-help books.

One response »

  1. Great post! I deal with depression too. And I also pursued a Biochem degree!! (but switched to Microbiology due to test anxiety.) That’s a great field, good for you for wanting to pursue it! 🙂
    I have Burns’ The Feeling Good Handbook. I haven’t gone through it all because it’s crazy long, but the book you wrote about sounds very interesting and a little more palatable. I will have to check it out.
    I struggle with low self esteem too. Always have. Something I found that helped TREMENDOUSLY was social interaction with close friends (hard to find, I must say) who value and respect you. You will learn to treat yourself the same way they treat you- with respect. Also, it’s very helpful because they can help you see your own problems in a more logical, rational light. Many times I will fret about something, mention it, and their response reminds me that it’s really not something worth fretting over at all.
    (The hard part of course, is finding those friends.)

    Anyway, great blog, I bet your posts help a lot of people out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

