Resulting in more stress at the fact my throat feels like it is closing up. I know concentrating on breathing is supposed to be good. Counting to ten, in and out. But it generally makes me more aware of my stress as when I am stress I find it difficult to breathe in and out and distraction usually works best to get it under control. Also concentrating on the moment, when I currently feel like shit in the moment or am in pain, have a headache, am wearing something uncomfortable there always seems to be something else. I am doing it wrong obviously but what can I do. I’m sure there must be other people with the same problem. I try counting to 10 or 100 in English which I can do too easily, so I try Japanese or French which I have to concentrate to do…something more physical still works better, involving music and moving!

About depressionica

Young sciency/arsty/etc girl who is highly interested in her own problem, depression and mental illness. She takes the scientific approach and is constantly reading new research and self-help books.

3 responses »

  1. Hi there,
    When I went to my Mindfulnes courses, there was a woman at the class who felt exactly the same as you. When she tried the breathing exercises, she felt like she was going to have a panic attack. So the person teaching the class said, thats ok not to do the breathing exercises, and that it affects everyone differently. We were all encouraged to lie down (when at home) whilst doing the exercises, but some people found this made them feel panic. So the teacher said its fine to sit up. I think its important to find what works for you out of all the mindfulness techniques. I really dont think you are doing anything wrong at all. Sometimes I’m the same and focusing on my breathing is a bad thing for me. Hang in there with Mindfulness overall, it has really helped me.
    Take care, Karen x

    • I am going to keep trying with the mindfulness practice because I have heard it works well, when it works. I was reading about in my book Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy for Depression by Dr. Segal, and he emphasizes being “non-judgmental”. This is something I have a huge problem with lately. I think once I get better at no criticizing myself and concentrating better I will be able to benefit from mindfulness!

  2. Amy in PA says:

    Jon Kabot Zinn also has a book out about mindfulness and I guess the main points I got from it were do not “try” to “do” anything, there is no wrong way to do it (just breath in and out and when your mind wanders, name it and bring yourself back to inhale/exhale), by naming it I mean “past”, “sadness”, “no clue”…whatever works. Also, he said in a video on youtube you can hang from the ceiling and do it. I always liked this approach because there is none of that “breath in deeply fill your lungs until they explode and then slowly release” crap. I have attempted to put this into my “skills”, failed at times, succeeded at other times but as much as I have read about it, it seems to be a good, workable tool. Sitting with your emotions is where it gets more difficult and having the ability to put the new thought into your mind that it is “ok” to feel whatever, is one of those things that is a challenge to me.

    http://myselfonlybetter.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

