sorry bout the crappy quality…..

It’s hard for me to tell if something is funded by a drug company, such as this pamphlet that caught my eye. The reason I was suspicious about the “Depression hurts.ca” part was that Cymbalta (a drug I have been on for years) what that this “depressionhurts” slogan was used by Cymbalta.

Here is that annoying ad (which I only saw on whatever American TV station I was watching at the time): http://www.adforum.com/creative-work/ad/player/57679

Within the ad it even says “go to depressionhurts.com”.  So I tried that and it kept redirecting me to depressionhurts.ca. (probs due to my I.P. address being Canadian)

Now here is depression hurts .ca: http://www.depressionhurts.ca/en/ Please have a look. C’est aussi en Francais! It’s a nice looking website. I enjoy the design of it. They used some flash design and interaction.

I am going to assume it was funded by the federal government of Canada since it has this tidbit, “Governing Law
Your use of the Site and the information contained on the Site shall be governed by the laws of the Province of Ontario and any applicable federal laws of Canada, and the courts of the Province of Ontario shall have exclusive jurisdiction over any legal disputes relating to the Site and the information contained on the Site.”

The brochure contains a checklist (filled out soooooo many over the years seeing different docs). It definitely DOES not push taking drugs at all. The overall message I get from the brochure is to “talk to someone about it”. And hopefully make some life style changes and connect with someone so I guess you won’t have to take drugs.

It does give a feeling of hope (a non-religious based one), which is motivating for people to get help/make changes/ etc.

I guess my one silly problem with the brochure is, I think some people feel that they can’t talk to anyone about being depressed or bi-polar especially their parents…

My parents and grandparents  are very aware of my mental problems and they are somewhat understanding, although I still feel kinda weird talking about it to them. I prefer talking to people my age that I am not related to, who have experienced the same problems. It does take a bit longer to make those kinds of relationships.

Here is, what I think is the best quote in the brochure:

“Getting help for you depression can change your life. Don’t wait- depression is an illness that can, and should, be treated.”

I will discuss this concept of time, treatment and being an efficient human being in another post!

About depressionica

Young sciency/arsty/etc girl who is highly interested in her own problem, depression and mental illness. She takes the scientific approach and is constantly reading new research and self-help books.

Leave a Reply

