R U OK?….. When I was searching “depression” in wordpress, I came across this interesting R U OK DAY thing. I have never “pressed” another person’s blog post before….I am not too much of a fan of “awareness” stuff because they have some pitfalls, but R U OK day sounds pretty good. I am a very sensitive person and can notice and notice constantly (which is sometimes really annoying) when people are feeling down…most of the time I just make up some reason in my head. It is a good idea to ask people.

I have been asked before if I was “ok”. I totally wasn’t “ok” (I wasn’t taking my meds either…). It seems certain people are better at knowing emotions though. Some close friends never noticed any significant changes in me and a complete stranger (she may have been in the social work program though..kinda had that feeling) asked me how I was doing and smiled at me. After she smiled at me, I thought to myself, yup probably should take my pills…cause exercise, healthy eating,  and counseling is just not cutting it.

Men are hard to read. They cover up depression with anger and grumpiness (I do that too) so I find it a bit more intimidating to “bug” them.

Hugs help but are kinda awkward for a lot of people like myself haha.

Also it’s not really necessary to constantly monitor your mood, even though I felt like my counselor using to tell me to do so…sometimes not thinking about how you feel FOR ONCE is really kinda pleasant!

About depressionica

Young sciency/arsty/etc girl who is highly interested in her own problem, depression and mental illness. She takes the scientific approach and is constantly reading new research and self-help books.

Leave a Reply

