I read this article in the Scientific American awhile ago. http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=depression-in-teens-could-be-diagnosed-blood-test

The interesting part is actually the comments on the online article version. And they are right this has barely been tested and not on a large enough group. But seriously, any sort of indicator might be nice. I was tested for pretty much every disease that has ever existed since I started having tiredness problems when I was 12. If they could do a blood test for depression as a last resort it might work.

But also maybe if the doctor clued in that I was depressed since it ran in my family and I seemed to be pretty sick….I am sure if I filled out one of those depression questionnaires it would have definitely indicated I was depressed but my doctor never even thought to give me one….I am still a little bitter about the fact my doctor didn`t recognize my depression earlier. I still had up times as a teen though so it wasn`t as bad as it is now. Hopefully, more research will be done on trying to get a test to determine mental illness, although, it might just always be too complicated for that…

About depressionica

Young sciency/arsty/etc girl who is highly interested in her own problem, depression and mental illness. She takes the scientific approach and is constantly reading new research and self-help books.

Leave a Reply

