It seems depression is becoming more and more of a popular subject in the mass media. There are now countless documentaries, news paper articles, reports, magazine articles on the topic (I will try to post as much as I can about them when I see them). It is a popular topic that people can relate to. A great majority of people I know well enough to talk about my mental problems to have experienced some form of depression serious enough to want to self harm, or effect their daily lives. Most of them got over it, especially after high school and seem to be very happy people now living without medication. Some people still have serious problems and some people have never really been depressed ever, shockingly enough (so lucky!). I searched depression videos on one of my fav torrent sites, isohunt. I found Stephen Fry’s documentary called the life of a manic depressive. Stephen Fry is a British actor who I guess was most recently in Sherlock Holmes (good movie). He has bi-polar disorder and refuses treatment. He interviews a bunch of interesting britains about their bi-polar disorders and depression. An interesting fact is that as he has become older his up phases have become less frequent and his depressed phases are lasting longer and are much more frequent. I think they should study this more. I hope he maybe tried something as I enjoy his acting and would like to see him in further Sherlock Holmes movies. I suggest watching it, as it talks a lot about treatments including an interview with electro boy.

I notice the articles in the newspaper and I will probably start counting them. I guess it’s cool that people are raising awareness rather than depression being  “just the neighbour that committed suicide and no one really knows why”. It certainly has been around a lot longer than since the awareness campaigns.

I am sure I will post a lot more on this topic!

Depression wastes my time. I have spent a large part of my life sleeping or being sad and not accomplishing things or having fun. This is something I have been thinking a lot about lately.

About depressionica

Young sciency/arsty/etc girl who is highly interested in her own problem, depression and mental illness. She takes the scientific approach and is constantly reading new research and self-help books.

Leave a Reply

