And before “take a warm bath”. Oh those lists. I must have thrown out at least 5 different but almost exactly the same lists of things to do when I get upset or depressed. I got them from doctors counselors, mental health programs, walk-in clinics, nurses etc. I do actually do those things or at least attempt to, that is the reason I never hang onto the lists because I already know those things make me feel better. 
 
I want to specifically talk about my small experience with meditation. Amazingly, for some reason, I can actually do the famous lotus position with my legs with no problem at but I prefer laying down or sitting comfortably when attempting to meditate. Meditation is HARD. I don’t know why they put it on the list because unguided meditation is super hard and you really have to be undepressed and under low stress to even get the hang of it. When I was doing well mentally a couple of years ago I was able to meditate for short periods of time. Now, my depression is not so much under control. I do like guided meditation better.

I have found some great podcasts that a free I would highly recommend as an intro into meditation:
The Australian Meditation Society makes great podcasts. They even did one specifically on depression that is actually sciencey girl approved (no promises of cures and acknowledges depression is an illness) Their podcasts have specific topics which they give some advice and stuff to ponder about and then go through a guided meditation usually related to that topic. CHECK IT OUT: http://meditation.org.au/index.asp?mobilecheck=true BONUS their accents are extremely soothing!

Another free meditation podcast I have tried is Meditation Oasis with another great calming voice. The meditations are also split up into topics. I found it through itunes.

I used to practice piano for about 2 hours at a time when I was young (only like 3 times a week though I was lazy) and I honestly think that, that was a form of meditation. I used to just lose myself in it. So not just meditating can be a meditation I think. Petting my dog is definitely meditation. : D

 

About depressionica

Young sciency/arsty/etc girl who is highly interested in her own problem, depression and mental illness. She takes the scientific approach and is constantly reading new research and self-help books.

Leave a Reply

