I bought a SAD lamp 3 years ago from a pharmacy when I was having a particularly rainy summer. I found it made a huuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuge difference. It still makes a difference in the winter a ton! I mean it doesn’t make me feel completely better but it still give me a bit more energy. The only problem I am worried about now is if the light is damaging my skin and eyes. I heard from the optometrist that it could be damaging my eyes and there are a bit concerned I use a lot.

I decided to phone the company Verilux and ask about it. They said there shouldn’t be any problems but I do find my face does get red after using it. Sun burn maybe? I might make a UV blocking cover for it just in case. I wouldn’t want to get any skin damage from it or eye damage. It still is hard to say whether or not it makes that much of a difference since I get really depressed in the summer too, although it varies from summer to summer.  I think it is worth trying light therapy though when dealing with depression because I will never know what works otherwise.

There is also infra red light therapy which maybe I will try. I am wondering if they use the same lights as in infra red yoga.

About depressionica

Young sciency/arsty/etc girl who is highly interested in her own problem, depression and mental illness. She takes the scientific approach and is constantly reading new research and self-help books.

Leave a Reply

