Hello,

I am a young university student (well currently taking time off due to um mental problems) who would like to reach out to other young depressed people. I am actually finding it hard to find other depressed people my own age. I understand though, sometimes I get a bit embarrassed admitting I am depressed or take medication but I am finding that there are a lot of people out there that are taking sometimes for mental health problems or have taken something in the past. I have been keeping a blog on blogger under the same name where some of my posts are rather angry and stuff. I was in school and stressed out about failing which seems to be a concern every semester. Science is hard….

 

Speaking of science I do a lot of my own research by reading current research that is going on the science world, reading books, and other somewhat credible sources of information (even then I take everything with a grain of salt).

One of the most interesting scientific debates going on is how exactly does electric shock therapy work? There is new evidence pointing towards new neuron growth in a specific part of the brain that is said to be small or less dense in neurons in depressed people. Also, some scientists think lithium does the same thing as well! Which interests me because that is my next choice of drugs since Cymbalta (duloxetine) is no longer working. The same thing happened to me with prozac (which also has a similar organic structure) after a year.

About depressionica

Young sciency/arsty/etc girl who is highly interested in her own problem, depression and mental illness. She takes the scientific approach and is constantly reading new research and self-help books.

Leave a Reply

